5th International Conference
on Information Technology Based Higher Education and Training
ITHET 2004

5th International Conference
on Information Technology Based Higher Education and Training
ITHET 2004

31th May - 2nd June 2004, Istanbul, TURKEY

Submission deadlines:
Extended summary: 31 January 2004
Notification of acceptance: 1 March 2004
Camera-ready full papers: 20 April 2004

Objectives: The convergence of current technologies provides the infrastructure for transmitting and storing information faster and cheaper. For information to be used in gaining knowledge, however, environments for collecting, storing, disseminating, sharing and constructing knowledge are needed. Such environments, knowledge media, brings together the telecommunication, computer and networking technologies, learning theories and cognitive sciences to form meaningful environments that provides for a variety of learner needs.

The World Wide Web is one such technology that provides access to valuable educational resources such as e-mail, e-groups, bulletin board services, audio conferencing, video conferencing, e-journals, search engines and databases. The web is also used to deliver online instruction or support conventional courses. The effective online delivery of instruction depends on fast and timely delivery of instructions in learning environments that cater to students academic, administrative and support needs. ITHET2004 aims to provide an environment for experts to discuss the current state of the art for learning both in industry and universities. Virtual environments, e-training and e-learning will be topics of particular interest.

Topics: The scope of the conference will cover but not be limited to:

  • New strategies for higher education and training
  • Network based education and training
  • Intelligent training technology
  • Authoring technology
  • Virtual classroom, virtual university
  • Asynchronous learning
  • Distance education
  • Quality management in higher education
  • Accreditation issues
  • Industry-institute partnership
  • Small & medium scale enterprises and the use of new technologies in their training programs
  • Role of information society and global communication system

Scientific Program: The duration of the conference will be three days.
The scientific program will include:

  • Oral presentations
  • Video presentations
  • Demonstrations of technology based training material
  • Panel sessions

Proceedings: The proceedings of the conference will be published and be available at the time of the conference. Additionally, it is planned to publish some selected papers of the conference in IEEE Transactions on Education and the journal Industry & Higher Education.

Paper submission: Prospective participants are invited to submit electronically a 700-1000 word extended summary. The details are available on the web site of the conference.

Organized by:
UNESCO Chair on Mechatronics, Bogazii University, Turkey

In Technical Co-operation with:
IEEE Education Society

Honorary Co-Chair:
Sabih Tansal (Rector, Bogazii University)
General Chair:
Okyay Kaynak (Bogazii University)
Program Co-chairs:
Yavuz Akpinar (Bogazii University)
Marion Hagler (Mississippi State University)
Advisory Committee:
Hidenori Akiyama (Kumamoto Univ., Japan)
Amire Benkiran (E. M. dIngnieurs, Morocco)
Kruno Hernaut (Siemens AG, Germany)
David V. Kerns (IEEE Education Society)
Federico Flckiger (IGIP, SUPSI Switzerland)
Kemal Oal (Siemens A.S., Turkey
Imre Rudas (Budapest Polytechnic, Hungary)
Victor Schutz (IEEE Education Society)

Address for Correspondence
Prof. Okyay Kaynak
Bogazii University,
UNESCO Chair on Mechatronics,
Bebek, 80815 Istanbul, TURKEY
Tel:+90-212-287 2475
Fax:+90-212-287 2465
e-mail: kaynak@boun.edu.tr
Technical inquiries e-mail: akpinar@boun.edu.tr

International Program Committee
Abdel-Badeeh Salem; Ain Shams University, Egypt
Anthony Edward Ward; York University, UK
Betty Collis; Twente University, Netherland
Claudio da Rocha Brito; COPEC, Brazil
Dante Del Corso; Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Denis Gillet; Institut d'Automatique, Switzerland
Driss Aboutajeddine; Facult des Sciences de Rabat, Morocco
Elhadi Shakshuki; Acadia University, Canada
Esma Aimeur; University of Montreal, Canada
Farouk Kamoun; ENSI, Tunisia
Fanny Klett; Ilmenau Technical University, Germany
Hamadou Saliah-Hassane; University of Quebec, Canada
Hamdi Erkunt; Bogazii University, Turkey
Hiroshi Nakano; Kumamoto University, Japan
Ikuo Kitagaki; Hiroshima University, Japan
Kenji Hanakata; Stuttgart University, Germany
Linn Marcia C.; Berkeley University, USA
Luiz Fernando Capretz; University of Western Ontario, Canada
Maria Joao Martins; Departamento de Matemtica Instituto, Portugal
Melany M. Ciampi; Supportnet School of Technology, Brazil
Mohammad Alam; University of South Alabama, USA
Naoyuki Shimomura; University of Tokushima, Japan
Olivier Bonnaud; Institut Elec. Tlcom. de Rennes, France
Peka Kess; Virtual University, Finland
Petek Askar; Hacettepe University, Turkey
Radouane Mrabet ; ENSIAS, Morocco
Raimund Ubar; Tallinn University, Estonia,
Ramon E. Vasquez; University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Sema Alptekin; Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, USA
Takashi Sakamoto; NIME, Japan
Terry Berreen; Monash University, Australia
Uriel Cukierman ; Universidad Tecnolgica Nacional, Argentina
Yoshiro Imai; Kagawa University, Japan
Zahra Al Rawahi; Sultan Qaboos University, Sultanate of Oman